Week 9: Architecture and Urban Planning

During this week’s activity we had to make a cognitive map, adopt a building on campus, and redesign the Cal State Long Beach map to our preference. For the adopt a building part I decided to pick the Student Wellness Recreation Center. I adopted this building because it is one of my favorite places to go on campus. I enjoy working out during my free time to relive any stress I have, this led me to pick the SWRC as my adoptive building. The SWRC grand opening was on was on September 20, 2010.

The SRWC is a 126,500-square-foot, two-story, state-of-the-art recreation facility located on the east side of the California State University, Long Beach campus. The facility is a hub for recreational activities, programs, and opportunities for Intramural Sports, Fitness, and Wellness services. The SWRC is open to all students at Cal State Long Beach.

I am glad the SWRC is a part of our campus because it gives everyone the opportunity to keep in shape. They have many different activities and events that keep our students active throughout the year. Having it on our campus is a privilege because many other schools do not have a recreational center.

For my design of the campus, I decided to expand the parking structures of the campus. In addition, I added a 24 hour market place near the Cal State Long Beach housing. I would really prefer the market over the parking because I do not commute. Many students who live on campus would agree to the idea of a 24 hour food market on campus.

IMG_8366

IMG_8357srwc1

Leave a Reply

