Week 13: Artist Interview with Shihori Nakayama

This week I had the pleasure to interview a very talented artist named Shihori Nakayama. Nakayama is originally from northern Japan. She lived there until she was 12 years old. She stated that she has been doing art for as long as she can remember. That point was interesting to me because I have not got that answer yet this semester.

During the interview she explained that her art was based on memories and people she loves. Everything that people saw in her art on Thursday were drawings of people and animals she knew. They were not random which made me more interested in her work. Nakayama stated that her work took her 4 months to finish. She said she gets inspiration from her home which is Japan to help make her art. For example, the cows on the picture represent where she grew up. Currently, she is a grad student. When she finishes she said she wants to freelance.

I enjoyed talking to Shihori she seems very passionate about her art. I am glad she was one of the artists I interviewed this week. I wish her good luck on all her endeavors!

IMG_8495 IMG_8494 IMG_8493

Leave a Reply

